The Newcastle Rugby League Division boasts a wonderful reputation as the largest Rugby League nursery in New South Wales, with over 8,000 registrations within its boundaries.


The Newcastle Rugby League is controlled by a board of Directors who oversee the 9 district clubs and their affiliated leagues. These affiliated leagues consist of the Hunter Valley Junior Rugby League, Maitland & District Schoolboys, Newcastle Schoolboys, Newcastle and Hunter Rugby League (Second Divison) and the Newcastle Referees Association.


The current 9 district Clubs are Central Newcastle, Cessnock, Kurri Kurri, Lakes United, Port Stephens Sharks, Macquarie Scorpions, Western Suburbs, South Newcastle, and Maitland. The Newcastle Rugby League has a staff of 5 who reside out of the Newcastle Leagues Club. These staff, led by CEO Matthew Harris, oversee the various competitions within the Newcastle Region.


Please see the contact section for contact details. The senior competition is called the Tooheys Cup named after our major sponsor Tooheys Ltd who have been a part of the Newcastle Rugby League family for over 25 years. Why not get out to a local ground during the season and enjoy the greatest game of all, Rugby League.


Please remember footy is a fun zone and it’s all about people having fun, players do not enjoy badly behaved crowds. The Newcastle Rugby League would like to take this opportunity to thank all the hard working volunteers, who generously donate their time week in & week out, to ensure the Newcastle Rugby League division continues to grow.