1910 – 1919

After competing in the inaugural New South Wales Rugby League Premiership in 1908 and 1909 the Newcastle Rugby League broke away to form the local competition in 1910.


The four original teams were Central Newcastle (Blue & White), Northern Suburbs (Light & Dark Blue vertical stripes), South Newcastle (Red & White) and Western Suburbs (Red & Green).


The season kicked off May 14th 1910 with South playing West and Central playing Northern Suburbs.


South Newcastle finished the season on top of the ladder; the final was played in front of 2500 spectators at Hamilton League Ground, with Central overcoming South 13-4.


The 1911 season saw the previous minor premier’s South slump to the bottom of the ladder. The final was played in front of 4000 spectators and saw North victorious over Central 10-2.


1911 saw the Combined Newcastle & Hunter team tour Queensland, defeating the Queensland State team in all matches played. Newcastle played against the touring New Zealand team in a tight match almost pulling off an upset before going down 21-20.The 1912 season saw the addition of Eastern Suburbs, playing in black and white.


They were immediately competitive and made the grand final.The First World War saw a halt to the competition for 1917 and 1918.1919 saw a split, with two smaller competitions held – the "Lilywhites" or clubs faithful to the NSWRL, composed of Eastern Suburbs and Northern Suburbs, and the "Bolsheviks" or rebels composed of South, North and West.



First Newcastle Rugby League premiership won by Central Newcastle

Western Suburbs won 3 premierships 1912, 1915, 1916

Northern Suburbs won 2 premierships 1911, 1914

Central Newcastle, Eastern Suburbs and South Newcastle won a premiership each 1910, 1913 and 1919 respectively



Stan Carpenter was the first Newcastle rugby league captain

Newcastle’s first rugby league internationals were William ‘Jerry’ Bailey & Pat ‘Nimmo’ Walsh selected for the first Kangaroo tour to Great Britain in 1908.



No competition was held in 1917 & 1918. In 1919 the competition split.

The two premiership winning teams were South Newcastle & Central  Newcastle.